The historical past of faculty soccer championship video games


The historical past of faculty soccer championship video games initially appeared on NBC Sports activities Bayarea

A brand new faculty soccer champion can be topped subsequent Monday.

The Alabama Crimson Tide is about to sq. off in opposition to the Georgia Bulldogs within the 2022 School Soccer Playoff Nationwide Championship at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis on Jan. 10. Alabama handed Georgia its first lack of the season with a convincing 41-24 victory again on Dec. 4 within the SEC Championship Recreation.

The win propelled the Crimson Tide to the highest seed within the School Soccer Playoff, whereas the Bulldogs fell to No. 3. Heisman Trophy winner Bryce Younger and Alabama cruised to a 27-6 CFP semifinal win over No. 4 Cincinnati, whereas Georgia toppled No. 2 Michigan 34-11 in its semifinal matchup to arrange the nationwide title grudge match.

Together with this 12 months’s convention championship recreation, Alabama and Georgia have current historical past on the nationwide championship stage. The 2 sides wanted extra time to find out a winner again within the 2018 CFP Nationwide Championship, with Tua Tagovailoa capping off Alabama’s comeback with a game-winning landing move to DeVonta Smith.

That is Georgia’s first time again within the nationwide title recreation since then and the staff is looking for its championship since 1980.

Alabama brings rather more championship expertise into the 2022 title recreation. The varsity has probably the most nationwide championships within the ballot period (1936-present) with 13 and is looking for its second straight title.

Not all of Alabama’s titles got here immediately by way of a nationwide championship recreation victory. School soccer went by means of a number of programs to find out a high staff earlier than touchdown on its present School Soccer Playoff format.

Right here’s a glance again at current nationwide title winners and the system in place for his or her championships:

Bowl Coalition and Bowl Alliance champions by 12 months

From 1968 (the 12 months the AP ballot started crowning its champion after bowl video games) to 1992, the No. 1 and No. 2 groups coming into bowl season solely matched up in a bowl recreation six instances.

After Consensus Nationwide Champions have been introduced for the 1990 and 1991 seasons, the Bowl Coalition went into place starting with the 1992 season. The coalition was shaped by means of an settlement between conferences and bowl video games to arrange a nationwide championship recreation between the highest two groups every season. After three seasons, the coalition was reconfigured and have become the Bowl Alliance, which lasted for 3 seasons, as effectively.

There was a serious flaw within the Bowl Coalition and Bowl Alliance getting used to crown a nationwide champion: the Massive Ten and Pac-10 weren’t concerned since each conferences have been contractually obligated to play within the Rose Bowl. The Match of Roses Affiliation didn’t enable both convention champion to play in a title recreation, even when certainly one of them was ranked No. 1 or No. 2.

Listed below are the championship recreation outcomes from the years below the Bowl Coalition and Bowl Alliance:

  • 1993 Sugar Bowl: No. 2 Alabama 34, No. 1 Miami 13

  • 1994 Orange Bowl: No. 1 Florida State 18, No. 2 Nebraska 16

  • 1995 Orange Bowl: No. 1 Nebraska 24, No. 3 Miami 17

  • 1996 Fiesta Bowl: No. 1 Nebraska 62, No. 2 Florida 24

  • 1997 Sugar Bowl: No. 3 Florida 52, No. 1 Florida State 20

  • 1998 Orange Bowl: No. 2 Nebraska 42, No. 3 Tennessee 17

Even with the Bowl Coalition in place, it nonetheless didn’t result in a consensus champion. For the 1997 season, Nebraska was named the nationwide champion by way of the Coaches’ Ballot following its Orange Bowl win over Tennessee, however No. 1 Michigan was named the nationwide champion by way of the Related Press after successful the 1998 Rose Bowl over No. 7 Washington State.

BCS Nationwide Championship winners by 12 months

The Bowl Championship Collection was put in place starting with the 1998 season. The Massive Ten and Pac-10, together with the Rose Bowl, joined Bowl Alliance’s member conferences to create a system that decided 5 bowl matchups between 10 of the top-ranked groups.

Identified for its mixture of polls and pc choice strategies, the BCS didn’t have a standalone title recreation till the 2006 season. From 1999 by means of 2006, the highest two groups squared off for the nationwide championship by way of a rotating group of 4 elite bowls: the Fiesta Bowl, Sugar Bowl, Orange Bowl and Rose Bowl.

Listed below are the BCS Championship contests from 1999 by means of 2006:

  • 1999 Fiesta Bowl: No. 1 Tennessee 23, No. 2 Florida State 16

  • 2000 Sugar Bowl: No. 1 Florida State 46, No. 2 Virginia Tech 29

  • 2001 Orange Bowl: No. 1 Oklahoma 13, No. 2 Florida State 2

  • 2002 Rose Bowl: No. 1 Miami 37, No. 2 Nebraska 14

  • 2003 Fiesta Bowl: No. 2 Ohio State 31, No. 1 Miami 24 (2OT)

  • 2004 Sugar Bowl: No. 2 LSU 21, No. 1 Oklahoma 14

  • 2005 Orange Bowl: No. 1 USC 55, No. 2 Oklahoma 19

  • 2006 Rose Bowl: No. 2 Texas 41, No. 1 USC 38

BCS Nationwide Championship Recreation winners by 12 months

The nationwide title was decided by means of the BCS Nationwide Championship Recreation for the 2006 season by means of the 2013 season. The championship was a standalone contest that pinned the highest two ranked groups coming into bowl season.

Right here is the winner from every BCS Nationwide Championship Recreation (the BCS named its championship video games primarily based on the 12 months by which the sport was performed, not the season as a complete):

  • 2007: No. 2 Florida 41, No. 1 Ohio State 14

  • 2008: No. 2 LSU 38, No. 1 Ohio State

  • 2009: No. 2 Florida 24, No. 1 Oklahoma 14

  • 2010: No. 1 Alabama 37, No. 2 Texas 21

  • 2011: No. 1 Auburn 22, No. 2 Oregon 19

  • 2012: No. 2 Alabama 21, No. 1 LSU 0

  • 2013: No. 2 Alabama 42, No. 1 Notre Dame 14

  • 2014: No. 1 Florida State 34, No. 2 Auburn 31

School Soccer Playoff Nationwide Championship winners by 12 months

The School Soccer Playoff system changed the BCS starting with the 2014 season. The CFP places the highest 4 ranked groups in a single-elimination bracket with semifinals being performed in bowl video games. The winners of the 2 semifinals then match up within the CFP Nationwide Championship.

Listed below are the ultimate scores for the CFP Nationwide Championship recreation because it topped its first champion within the 2014 season (the School Soccer Playoff additionally names its championship video games primarily based on the 12 months by which it’s performed):

  • 2015: No. 4 Ohio State 42, No. 2 Oregon 20

  • 2016: No. 2 Alabama 45, No. 1 Clemson 40

  • 2017: No. 2 Clemson 35, No. 1 Alabama 31

  • 2018: No. 4 Alabama 26, No. 3 Georgia 23 (OT)

  • 2019: No. 2 Clemson 44, No. 1 Alabama 16

  • 2020: No. 1 LSU 42, No. 3 Clemson 25

  • 2021: No. 1 Alabama 52, No. 3 Ohio State 24

The place will subsequent 12 months’s School Soccer Playoff Nationwide Championship be performed?

After a champion is topped Monday night time at Lucas Oil Stadium, the following title recreation can be performed at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, Calif., on Jan. 9, 2023. The venue will host its first CFP Nationwide Championship and Tremendous Bowl lower than 11 months aside, with Tremendous Bowl LVI on Feb. 13, 2022, and a university title recreation on Jan. 9, 2023.

The 2023 CFP Nationwide Championship can be performed at NRG Stadium, which is dwelling of the Houston Texans. The 2024 title recreation is about for Jan. 6, 2025, and the 2025 title recreation is about for Jan. 5, 2026, however neither venue has been introduced but.



Leave a Comment