Julian Edelman is likely to be inducted into the Corridor of Fame at some point, however not forward of those 5 receivers


This isn’t one other article championing Julian Edelman’s case for the Corridor of Fame. If you’d like a deep dive on the not too long ago retired Edelman’s profession, I would advise you to try this text that ranks Edelman’s common and postseason achievements in opposition to previous and current receivers. 

This story is as an alternative targeted on figuring out 5 former receivers that needs to be inducted into the Professional Soccer Corridor of Fame earlier than Edelman, who will not be eligible for induction till 2026. Whereas his zero Professional Bowl berths and so-so regular-season stats might be held in opposition to him, it additionally does not assist that Edelman is a receiver, the toughest talent place so far as moving into the Corridor of Fame. And whereas Edelman’s Corridor of Fame wait will not start for an additional 5 years, many deserving receivers have been ready years — many years in some circumstances — to obtain the decision to Canton, Ohio. 

Whereas there are a number of receivers worthy of Corridor of Fame consideration, let’s check out the 5 eligible receivers who most deserve induction earlier than Edelman. Whereas it wasn’t the one standards we used when placing this listing collectively, we did lean on Professional Soccer Reference’s Corridor of Fame monitor, which calculates every gamers’ worth so far as the Corridor of Fame is worried. This listing doesn’t embody Steve SmithAnquan Boldin and Andre Johnson, who will not be eligible for the Corridor of Fame till 2022. 

5. Torry Holt 

Getty Pictures

Holt’s Corridor of Fame “monitor rating” in keeping with Professional Soccer Reference is 105.27; which is simply above the common monitor rating (105) for receivers who’re at present within the Corridor of Fame. Holt’s rating is greater than present Falcons receiver Julio Jones and Corridor of Fame receivers Paul Warfield, Isaac Bruce (Holt’s teammate in St. Louis), Michael Irvin, Don Maynard, Marvin Harrison and Artwork Monk, amongst others. 

A seven-time Professional Bowler and member of the NFL‘s All-2000s Crew, Holt performed an integral position on the Rams‘ 1999 championship workforce. The league’s main receiver on two separate events, Holt was the Rams’ No. 1 receiver when St. Louis made a return journey to the Tremendous Bowl in 2001. 

4. Otis Taylor 

Getty Pictures

A participant who was actually forward of his time, the 6-foot-3, 215-pound Taylor was one of many first receivers to completely use his physicality to his benefit. In 1965, Taylor spurned the NFL (he was drafted by the Eagles with the 203rd choose within the NFL draft) to play for the AFL’s Kansas Metropolis Chiefs. In his second season, Taylor led the AFL in common yards per catch whereas serving to lead the Chiefs to the first-ever Tremendous Bowl. The AFL’s chief in landing catches the next season, Taylor helped the Chiefs seize their first Tremendous Bowl win on the finish of the 1969 season. His 46-yard landing sealed Kansas Metropolis’s 23-7 win over the Vikings, the final sport ever performed between the rival leagues. 

Taylor’s transition to the NFL was seamless after the 2 leagues merged in 1970. A yr after the merge, Taylor led the NFL in receiving yards whereas incomes All-Professional honors. He earned Professional Bowl honors once more in 1972 on the age of 30. 

3. Hines Ward 

Getty Pictures

The Steelers‘ all-time chief in receptions, yards and touchdowns, Ward can also be eighth all-time in profession postseason receiving yards (1,181). Three of Ward’s 4 consecutive Professional Bowl picks got here with completely different quarterbacks: Kordell Stewart (2001), Tommy Maddox (2002-03) and a rookie named Ben Roethlisberger (2004). In 2005, Ward received Tremendous Bowl MVP honors whereas serving to lead Pittsburgh to its fifth Tremendous Bowl victory. He was the Steelers’ No. 1 receiver when Pittsburgh defeated the Cardinals three years later in Tremendous Bowl XLIII. 

Ward is thought to be arguably essentially the most bodily receiver in league historical past. Ward’s physicality was key through the Steelers’ legendary matchups in opposition to Ray Lewis, Ed Reed and the remainder of the Ravens through the 2000s. 

2. Reggie Wayne 

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports activities

Wayne’s Corridor of Fame monitor rating (108.1) is the best in NFL historical past for a receiver who will not be at present within the Corridor of Fame. Whereas he spent a substantial portion of his profession in Marvin Harrison’s shadow, Wayne really completed simply 235 yards behind Harrison on the all-time profession receiving listing. 

A six-time Professional Bowler from 2006-10 and in 2012, Wayne led the NFL in receiving yards in 2007. His 53-yard landing catch through the earlier yr’s Tremendous Bowl helped the Colts win the franchise’s first Tremendous Bowl following their transfer from Baltimore to Indianapolis. Wayne was Peyton Manning’s No. 1 receiver when the Colts made it again to the Tremendous Bowl in 2009. And regardless of Manning’s departure in 2012, a 34-year-old Wayne earned Professional Bowl honors that season whereas catching passes from a rookie quarterback named Andrew Luck.  

1. Cliff Department

Getty Pictures

The best deep risk of his period, the speedy Department earned 4 straight Professional Bowl picks and three consecutive All-Professional nods. He led the NFL in receiving as soon as throughout throughout that span whereas pacing the league in landing catches on two separate events. A mannequin of consistency, Department continued to provide effectively into his 30s. At age 35, he performed an integral position within the Raiders‘ 38-9 win over Washington in Tremendous Bowl XVIII; his 50-yard catch early within the sport arrange his 12-yard landing reception. 

One of the crucial productive receivers in NFL historical past, Department performed a key position in all three of the Raiders’ Tremendous Bowl wins. After a Professional Bowl season on the Raiders’ first Tremendous Bowl workforce in 1976, his two landing catches in Tremendous Bowl XV propelled the Raiders to a 27-10 win over the Eagles in 1980. Department flourished whereas enjoying with quarterbacks Ken Stalber and Jim Plunkett. 



Leave a Reply