Patriots snap NFL report of consecutive 10-win seasons after Week 14 loss to Rams


Las Vegas Raiders v New England Patriots
Adam Glanzman/Getty Photographs

All good issues should come to an finish and essentially the most spectacular win streak in NFL historical past is over. The New England Patriots snapped their run of consecutive 10-win seasons at 17 — snapped in Thursday’s loss to the Los Angeles Rams. The Patriots fell to 6-7 on the season, which means they will solely win a most of 9 video games in 2020. New England hasn’t gained fewer than 10 video games in a season since ending 9-7 in 2002 as that is simply the third time head coach Invoice Belichick has did not win 10 video games with the Patriots (New England went 5-11 in Belichick’s first season with the crew in 2000). 

The Patriots run of 17 consecutive seasons is unmatched in NFL historical past. New England went an astonishing 212-60 in the course of the streak (not counting the 2020 season) — an unimaginable .779 profitable proportion. The Patriots gained an unimaginable 16 AFC East titles and made the postseason in 16 of these 17 seasons (they missed the playoffs in 2008 at 11-5). New England reached the convention championship sport 12 instances and the Tremendous Bowl eight instances — profitable 5 of them. 

The San Francisco 49ers have the second-longest streak of consecutive 10-win seasons at 16 (1983 to 1998), a streak the Patriots surpassed final 12 months. San Francisco went 190-57-1 with 12 NFC West titles throughout their streak, reaching the convention championship sport 9 instances and the Tremendous Bowl 4 instances — profitable all 4 appearances. San Francisco made the playoffs in 15 of these 16 seasons, lacking the postseason in 1991 with a 10-6 report. 

San Francisco and New England are the one two franchises which have 10+ consecutive seasons of 10+ wins. Listed below are the longest streaks of 10+ win seasons in NFL historical past:

  1. New England Patriots (2003-2019) — 17
  2. San Francisco 49ers (1983-1998) — 16
  3. Indianapolis Colts (2002-2010) — 9
  4. Dallas Cowboys (1975-1981) — 7
  5. Dallas Cowboys (1968-1973) — 6
  6. Kansas Metropolis Chiefs (2015-Current) — 6
  7. Miami Dolphins (1970-1975) — 6
  8. Los Angeles Rams (1973-1978) — 6

The Patriots’ spectacular streak seems to be unmatched in NFL historical past. Even Patrick Mahomes and the Kansas Metropolis Chiefs must have 11 straight 10-win seasons simply to match them. New England must win out to maintain their NFL report 20 consecutive profitable seasons (Cowboys) intact, a streak that began in 2001. 


Leave a Comment