Iowa State gamers and coach win prime awards


Iowa State operating again Breece Corridor and linebacker Mike Rose are The Related Press Huge 12 offensive and defensive gamers of the 12 months after the Cyclones’ greatest convention season ever additionally earned Matt Campbell coach of the 12 months honors.

The Huge 12 runner-up Cyclones will play in a New 12 months’s Six bowl for the primary time, dealing with Oregon within the Fiesta Bowl. They have been a league-best 8-1 in Huge 12 play in the course of the common season earlier than a 27-21 loss to Oklahoma within the championship sport. The eight convention wins have been a faculty report.

Corridor is the Huge 12 chief with 130.5 yards dashing per sport and 19 touchdowns, and has a TD in each sport this season. The sophomore was the unanimous choose as the highest offensive participant when the AP All-Huge 12 staff and particular person awards have been revealed Thursday, as decided by the vote of a panel of 20 sports activities writers and sportscasters who recurrently cowl the league.

Rose acquired 11 of the 20 votes as prime defender. The junior is tied for the Huge 12 lead with 90 whole tackles (8.2 per sport) and 4 interceptions, together with 10 tackles for loss.

Oklahoma redshirt freshman quarterback Spencer Rattler was a first-ream choose and shared newcomer of the 12 months honors with West Virginia senior linebacker Tony Fields II, a switch from Arizona. Every obtained seven votes and Fields additionally acquired 4 votes for defensive participant of the 12 months.

Texas junior Joseph Ossai, who performs a hybrid place for the Longhorns, acquired three votes for prime defensive participant. He acquired votes for defensive finish and linebacker on the All-Huge 12 staff, sufficient to be chosen second-team at each positions.

Campbell, in his fifth season at Iowa State, acquired all 20 votes as coach of the 12 months.

Iowa State had 4 first-team picks for the AP All-Huge 12 staff, matching Oklahoma and Texas Tech for essentially the most in league.

The 2020 AP All-Huge 12 staff, as chosen by a panel of 20 sports activities writers and sportscasters who recurrently cowl the league, with gamers listed alphabetically with title, college, peak, weight, class and hometown. (”u-” denotes unanimous choice):



QB – Spencer Rattler, Oklahoma, 6-1, 205, RFr., Phoenix.

RB – u-Breece Corridor, Iowa State, 6-1, 215, So., Wichita, Kansas.

RB – Leddie Brown, West Virginia, 5-11, 214, Jr., Philadelphia.

T – Samuel Cosmi, Texas, 6-7, 309, Jr., Humble, Texas.

T – Teven Jenkins, Oklahoma State, 6-6, 320, Sr., Topeka, Kansas.

G – Jack Anderson, Texas Tech, 6-5, 315, Jr., Frisco, Texas.

G – Josh Sills, Oklahoma State, 6-6, 325, Jr., Sarahsville, Oklahoma.

C – Creed Humphrey, Oklahoma, 6-5, 320, Jr. Shawnee, Oklahoma.

TE – u-Charlie Kolar, Iowa State, 6-6, 257, Jr., Norman, Oklahoma.

WR – u-Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma State, 6-0, 190, Sr., Fort Value, Texas.

WR – Erik Ezukanma, Texas Tech, 6-3, 220, So., Fort Value, Texas.

All-Function – Trestan Ebner, Baylor, 5-11, 208, Sr., Henderson, Texas.

Ok – Gabe Brkic, Oklahoma, 6-2, 198, So., Chardon, Ohio.


DE – Wyatt Hubert, Kansas State, 6-3, 270, Jr., Topeka, Kansas.

DE – JaQuan Bailey, Iowa State, 6-2, 261, Sr., Jacksonville, Florida.

DT – Darius Stills, West Virginia, 6-1, 282, Sr., Fairmont, West Virginia.

DT – Isaiah Thomas, Oklahoma, 6-5, 267, Jr., Tulsa, Oklahoma.

LB- Mike Rose, Iowa State, 6-4, 245, Jr., Brecksville, Ohio.

LB – Tony Fields II, West Virginia, 6-1, 220, Las Vegas.

LB – Garret Wallow, TCU, 6-2, 230, Sr., New Orleans.

CB – Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU, 5-9, 177, So., Waco, Texas.

CB – Zech McPhearson, Texas Tech, 5-11, 195, Sr., Columbia, Maryland.

S – Trevon Moehrig, TCU, 6-2, 202, Jr., Spring Department, Texas.

S – Jalen Pitre, Baylor, 6-0, 200, Jr., Stafford, Texas.

P – Austin McNamara, Texas Tech, 6-4, 185, So., Gilbert, Arizona.



QB – Brock Purdy, Iowa State, 6-1, 212, Jr., Gilbert, Arizona.

RB – Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State, 5-5, 168, Fr., Spherical Rock, Texas.

RB – Chuba Hubbard, Oklahoma State, 6-0, 208, Jr., Sherwood Park, Alberta.

T – Adrian Ealy, Oklahoma, 6-6, 327, Jr., Gonzales, Louisiana.

T – T.J. Storment, TCU, 6-7, 325, Sr., Statesville, North Carolina.

G – Derek Schweiger, Iowa State, 6-3, 311, Jr., Plymouth, Wisconsin.

G – Michael Brown, West Virginia, 6-3, 345, Sr., Compton, California.

C – Colin Newell, Iowa St., 6-4, 304, Jr., Ames, Iowa.

TE – Austin Stogner, Oklahoma, 6-6, 262, So, Plano, Texas.

WR – Xavier Hutchinson, Iowa State, 6-3, 207, Jr., Jacksonville, Florida.

WR – Marvin Mims, Oklahoma, 5-11, 177, Fr., Frisco, Texas.

All-Function – Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State, 5-5, 168, Fr., Spherical Rock, Texas.

Ok – Cameron Dicker, Texas, 6-1, 204, Jr. Austin, Texas.


DE – +Joseph Ossai, Texas, 6-4, 253, Jr., Conroe, Texas.

DE – Ochaun Mathis, TCU, 6-5, 247, So., Manor, Texas.

DT – Dante Stills, West Virginia, 6-3, 275, Jr., Fairmont, West Virginia.

DT – Drew Wiley, Kansas State, 6-4, 300, Sr., Vinton, Iowa.

LB – Amen Ogbongbemiga, Oklahoma State, 6-1 235, Sr., Calgary, Alberta.

DE – +Joseph Ossai, Texas, 6-4, 253, Jr., Conroe, Texas.

LB – ++ Nik Bonitto, Oklahoma, 6-3, 238, So., Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

LB – ++ Terrel Bernard, Baylor, 6-1, 222, Jr., La Porte, Texas.

CB – Rodarius Williams, Oklahoma State, 6-0, 195, Sr. Shreveport, Louisiana.

CB – Tre Brown, Oklahoma, 5-10, 186, Sr., Tulsa, Oklahoma.

S – Tykee Smith, West Virginia, 5-10, 202, So., Philadelphia.

S – Greg Eisworth II Iowa State, 6-0, 198, Sr., Grand Prairie, Texas.

P – Jordy Sandy, TCU, 6-3, 216, So., Traralgon, Australia.

+(equals)Ossai acquired votes at each positions; ++(equals)tie for closing second-team LB spot.

Coach of the 12 months – u-Matt Campbell, Iowa State.

Offensive participant of the 12 months – u-Breece Corridor, RB, Iowa State.

Defensive participant of the 12 months – Mike Rose, LB, Iowa State.

Newcomer of the 12 months – (tie) Spencer Rattler, QB, Oklahoma; and Tony Fields II, LB, West Virginia.

AP All-Huge 12 Voting Panel: Ryan Aber, The Oklahoman; Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman; Joe Buettner, Norman Transcript; Chuck Carlton, Dallas Morning Information; Brian Davis, Austin American-Statesman; Drew Davison, Fort Value Star-Telegram; Matt Galloway, Topeka Capital-Journal; Invoice Haisten, Tulsa World; Blair Kerkhoff, Kansas Metropolis Star; Sean Manning, The Dominion Publish; Randy Peterson, Des Moines Register; Soren Petro, Sports activities Radio 810, Kansas Metropolis; Ryan Pritt, Charleston Gazette-Mail; Matt Roberts, KWKT-TV, Waco, Texas; Kellis Robinett, Wichita Eagle; Carlos Silva, Jr., Lubbock Avalanche-Journal; Ben Visser, Cedar Rapids Gazette; John Werner, Waco Tribune-Herald; Don Williams, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal; Scott Wright, The Oklahoman.


Extra AP faculty soccer: and


Leave a Comment